VESTAL HIGH SCHOOL

Vestal, New York 13850

SCHOLARSHIP INFORMATION FOR SENIORS

NAME & DESCRIPTION: Southern Tier Technology & Engineering Educators Association Scholarship

QUALIFICATIONS:

- Graduating high school senior planning to attend a college or university as an Engineering, Technology or closely related STEM major during the 2024-25 school year.
- Be recommended by an active member of STEEA. (Mr. Klatt is an active STTEEA member.)
- Relatives of STTEEA members are **not eligible**.
- Essay or portfolio.

BENEFITS: \$500 - 1,500

DUE DATE TO GUIDANCE: April 30, 2024

Applications are available in the Counseling & Guidance Office or in Google Classroom.

SOUTHERN TIER TECHNOLOGY STUDENT SCHOLARSHIP ASSOCIATION INC. SCHOLARSHIP 2024

The Southern Tier Technology Student Scholarship Association Inc. (STTSSA) will award at least one scholarship to a young person who has taken Technology Education courses. Awards of either \$1500 or \$500 may be made at the discretion of the committee as funding allows. Each award winner will receive a recognition certificate and check that may be presented at your school's award ceremony. This is to be applied to your tuition and expenses during the 2024-2025 school year,

QUALIFICATIONS

- Applicants must be a student graduating attending a STTSSA region high school (Broome, Tioga and Chenango counties) in the class of 2024.
- Be recommended by an active member of STTSSA. (Please confirm with your teacher that they are active which is defined as current in dues and having attended a meeting in the current academic year)
- Graduate high school with the class of 2024 and enroll in a college or university as an Engineering, Technology, or closely related STEM major for the 2024-25 school year.

A	PPLICATION PROCEDURE	*Due to Guidance:	4/30/24			
Students must complete and submit all the be considered: Application form	following either electronically o	☐ Student's transcript (Guidance			
Letter of Recommendation (Recommended) from an ACTIVE STTSSA member (May be sent electronically)						
☐ Essay or Portfolio (See information	about these tasks below.)					

Electronic submissions are strongly recommended (Confirmation will be sent once received) PDF's preferred

Essay Option – Discuss in 200-800 words your involvement in technology education and how it has directed your career focus. Focus on projects and courses that have led you to pursue an engineering or technology degree program. If applicable, discuss a project you have completed that demonstrates initiative, leadership, and commitment.

Portfolio Option – Should be a display of your best work and may be submitted in any hard copy (PDF) or any other format that you wish as long as it is in a media that the committee can view. It should display your best work in technology or engineering education, demonstrating creativity, skill, initiative, leadership, and commitment in the areas of STEM. Please include a brief description of a project's objectives and results to help guide the committee's review of your work.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Mr. Michael Ramsden (607) 648-7544 ramsdenm@cforks.org

2024 STTSSA SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION * Due to Guidance =

Complete Application, transcript, resume, and essay/portfolio must be received by May 1st, 2024 for consideration. Submit applications to: <u>ramsdenm@cforks.org</u>. If emailing a document causes hardship please contact Mr. Ramsden before the deadline to make alternative arrangements

Name:		School District:	
Mailing address:		Phone:	
		Email Address:	
1 st college choice:	Major:		Accepted – Applied
2 nd college choice (if undecided):	Major:		Accepted – Applied
Print name of Guidance Counselor:		Guidance Counselor email address:	
Name of recommending STTEEA Member:		Teacher email address:	
Print name of parent(s)/guardian(s):			

Past STTSSA/STTEEA Scholarship Award Recipients:

- 2012: Matt Baker Harpursville & Dylan Brink Tioga
- 2013: Desirae Barnhart Candor & Kara Yudikaitis M-E
- 2014: Kegan Brink Tioga, & Caitlin Berner U-E
- 2015: Kyle Jenson Candor & Sara Zuwiyya Vestal
- 2016: Roger Il Grande Jr. U-E & Anthony Smith CF
- 2017: Aaron Gorsline NV, Zachary Krassin OFA, Dylan O'Neil U-E & Jacob Horoszewski Harpursville, Patrick McCullough M-E, Chase Roy JC, Cris Hopkins Candor & Aaron Pixley CF
- 2018: Patrick Dailey JC, Brittney Mitchell U-E, Skylar Pierce OFA, & Tanner Wallis Johnson City
- 2019: Keagan Stanbro U-E & Calesta Reigelman JC
- 2020: Ezra Steele Tioga & Jillian Norton M-E, Christian Abbadessa U-E & Joseph Costello M-E
- 2021: Mason Howland JC, Jenna Warholic JC, Nova Fleming ME, Michael Smith ME, Luke Huizinga Candor, Isaac Lindridge Candor, & Clayton Wrighter CF
- 2022: Amanda Homan U-E & Velez Mattiace M-E
- 2023: Hayden Greene Windsor, Zachary Hibbard CF, Alexander Balachick Windsor, Lauren Kneer U-E, Grady Stark CF, & Corbin Fetterman CF